BSLAC History


BSLAC was formed in 1971 and was the 5th Centre to be formed in NSW. The Centre comprised of five clubs Bankstown Sports, Georges Hall, Condell Park, Padstow Pioneers and Police Boys. They competed at McLean Oval, Bass Hill.

In 1974 they were joined by Panania/Milperra and for the 1972/73 season the Centre transferred to Coleman Park, Georges Hall, from 1973/74 to 1977/78 competition was held at The Crest soccer fields. The athletic field at The Crest opened in 1978 and is now the Centre’s home ground. The 5 clubs disbanded at the end of the 1975 season and Bankstown became one centre under one executive. In 1994/95 the centre came under the umbrella of Bankstown Sports Club with a name change to Bankstown Sports Little Athletics Centre Inc. The original grass track was upgraded to “Tartan” in 2000 as part of the Sydney Olympics.

Over the years, a number of Bankstown athletes have represented NSW at the Australian Little Athletics Championships and many have gone on to seniors with great success. A winter cross country season has been held since 1971. Originally it was held at The Crest but from the 1981 season it was transferred to Lansdowne bush area, close to the cycle track, taking place on Sunday mornings. In 1993 we returned to The Crest, where we continue to conduct a Saturday afternoon cross country competition for athletes of all ages.

This photo has been our club’s long
standing cover for our Information Book.
It epitomises the spirit of Little Athletics;
it shows two U11 boys embracing, after a close
finish to the 800m final at the
State Championships, at Narrabeen, in 1982 in
torrential rain
The winner was Matthew Deighton of
Quirindi and 2nd place was Grant Duddle of
Bankstown, in our old uniform, green and
white striped shirt and white shorts.